Political Structure


Selby District Council has 31 councillors.  Councillors are elected once every four years.  The last election was in May 2015 and the next election will be on Thursday 2 May 2019. You can find the results of the 2015 election here.

The current political composition of the council is:

Conservative - 22

Labour - 7

Independent Group - 2

This means the council has a Conservative majority of 13.

All councillors meet together as Full Council.  Meetings of the council are normally open to the public, although some information may have to be dealt with in private, if this includes personal details or deals with issues that are financially sensitive.

At these meetings councillors decide the overall policies and set the budget each year. The council ensures that the Leader and Executive act in accordance with the Budget and Policy Framework and holds them to account for the decisions which they take.

Please see the Committee Minutes page for further details.


The Executive develops and proposes policy for the Council and has the authority to take all decisions within the Budget and Policy Framework set by the council, including key decisions (see below). It comprises the Leader of the Council and four other councillors, although under the constitution of the Council this number can change.

Key decisions are things that have significant impact in two or more wards in the district, or involve spending or saving  more than £150,000.

The Executive - Meetings page has the details of agendas and minutes for these meetings.


The council appoints three committees to deal with overview and scrutiny.

  1. The Policy Review Committee - to contribute to the development of new council policy and review the effectiveness of existing council policy.
  2. The Scrutiny Committee - to scrutinise decisions and performance and help hold the Leader and Executive to account.
  3. The Audit Committee - to scrutinise and monitor the council's control, procedures and risk management systems.

Each of the three committees comprises a Chair and Vice Chair and up to seven other councillors appointed by the Council in accordance with rules on political balance.  The Policy Review Committee and the Scrutiny Committee carry out the Council's statutory overview and scrutiny functions.

Regulatory and other committees

These committees act within the policies established by the Council and deal with the regulatory functions of the Council.

  1. Planning Committee - to deal with all planning issues, such as planning applications, as per Town and Country Planning legislation.
  2. Licensing and Appeals Committee - to deal with all licensing issues that are the responsibility of the District Council, such as the licensing of taxis and licensed premises.

In addition, the council also supports five Community Engagement Forums in the district, which play an integral role in supporting communities to help themselves and shape their local services.  Find out more about Community Engagement Forums.