Parish councils - general information

The district is divided into seventy four parishes. Some of those parishes, however, are so small and with so few residents/registered voters that they are unable to support a Parish Council structure. There are 8 such areas and in these cases they adopt a Parish Meeting format.

Others have combined with neighbouring small parishes to form joint parish councils with many adopting to reserve a set number of seats by warding the parishes within the Parish Council.

Total Parishes

Town Councils

Selby (4 wards - North, South, West and St James')
Tadcaster (2 wards - East and West)

Barlby & Osgodby (3 wards - Bridge, Village and Osgodby)

Parish Meetings

Huddlestone with Newthorpe
Little Fenton
Temple Hirst
Stubbs Walden
West Hadlesey

Parish Councils

57 (includes 5 joint Parish Councils - 12 parishes)
Joint PCs:
Appleton Roebuck and Acaster Selby;
Bolton Percy, Colton and Steeton;
Healaugh and Catterton;

Saxton with Scarthingwell cum Lead;
Townton, Grimston and Kirkby Wharfe with North Milford.

For information on each parish please follow this link