North Yorkshire County Election and Parish Elections – Thursday 5 May 2022

Parliamentary approval of the Structural Changes Order for North Yorkshire were approved by central government this year, and as a result there will be a new single council in North Yorkshire, providing all the services you are used to receiving. The new North Yorkshire Council will replace the seven district and borough councils as well as the county council on 1 April 2023.

On 5 May elections went underway to vote for one of 90 new councillors who will represent 89 new divisions. These councillors that have now been elected will serve for five years. For the first year they will represent the county council for its final year. They will then serve the new single council for its first four years. Details of the new divisions can be viewed on an interactive map alongside current district wards and parish boundaries. 

Also taking place on this date were the Parish Council elections for the Selby district.

Turnout - Verification Statement for Selby area in the NYCC Election

Parish Council Election Results


Parish elections: The total number of votes cast for the Cridling Stubbs parish council election is 93, a turnout of 65%. Selby Town Council (North Ward) votes 962, a turnout of 21%. Selby Town Council (South Ward) votes 874, a turnout of 20%. Thorganby votes 119, a turnout of 40%.

RESULT: Selby (South) Parish Council Ward –

Sue Andrew (Labour) 495 votes, Thomas Beharrell (Green) 381 votes, Holly Davis (Labour) 395, Melanie Davis (Labour) 399, Craig Laskey (Labour) 333, Wendy Nichols (Labour) 403, Jack Proud (Labour) 489. Sue Andrew, Thomas Beharrell, Holly Davis, Melanie Davis, Wendy Nichols and Jack Proud are elected to five seats on the parish council.

RESULT: Thorganby Parish Council –

Michael Baker 73 votes, Jonathan Beckerlegge 73 votes, David Clegg 65 votes, Stephen Fell 71 votes, Betty Garnham 80 votes, Caroline Hadlington 81 votes, Tracey Read 78 votes, Sarah Rigby 93 votes, Alex Ruston 77 votes, Rob Worthington 95 votes. Michael Baker, Jonathan Beckerlegge, Stephen Fell, Betty Garnham, Caroline Hadlington, Tracey Read, Sarah Rigby, Alex Ruston, Rob Worthington elected to five seats on the parish council.

RESULT: Cridling Stubbs Parish Council –

Mel Blackburn 31 votes, Cherry Bullimore 40 votes, Rod Copley 65 votes, Jackie Howarth 42 votes, Jenny Howarth 44, Ian Phillips 30, Lorna Phillips31, Simon Riley (Ind),43 Janet Senior 39. Cherry Bullimore, Rod Copley, Jackie Howarth, Jenny Howarth and Simon Riley elected to five seats on the parish council.

RESULT: Selby (North) Parish Council Ward –

Carol Crutchley (Green) 379 votes, Keith Franks (Labour) 550 votes, Richard Harrison (Labour) 523 votes, George Lockley (Labour) 521 votes, Fred Matthews (Labour) 608 votes, Steven Shaw-Wright (Labour) 572 votes. Keith Franks, Richard Harrison, George Lockley, Fred Matthews, Steven Shaw-Wright are elected to five seats on the parish council.

NYCC Election Results

The results for the NYCC elections can be seen here.

Expenses documents for Candidates

Candidate Expenses Pack - NYCC Election (pdf)

Candidate Expenses Return Document - NYCC Election (xls)

Candidate Expenses Pack - Parish Council Election

NYCC Election - Expenses Limits

Parish Council Elections - Expenses Limits