Proclamation ceremony

The formal public ceremony to proclaim King Charles III as the nation’s new Sovereign took place at Selby Abbey, on Sunday 11 September at 4pm.

This local proclamation for the Selby district followed the national proclamation from St James’ Palace and the regional proclamation in York, which took place earlier on Sunday. The proclamation was read by vice chairman of Selby District Council, Councillor Mike Jordan.

Other local dignitaries included Selby District Council’s chief executive Janet Waggott, deputy leader of the Council, Cllr Richard Musgrave, senior Council officials and Honorary Aldermen. Others included the Mayor of Selby Town Council, the Mayor of Tadcaster Town Council and representatives from Sherburn Town Council. 

The union flag at the Civic Centre is flown at half-mast apart from during the Proclamation announcement of the new monarch. This is in line with national guidelines.