Current and former councillors made Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen

Selby District Council has rewarded the exceptional service of 15 current and former councillors by making them Honorary Aldermen and Alderwomen.

Those councillors who have served the district for 20 years or more were given the honour at a special meeting of the council, held on 13 December.

Becoming an Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman means those with the honour can take part in civic ceremonies. The role is non-political and can only be awarded to those who have made a significant contribution to the council and the people it represents.

Chairman of Selby District Council, Councillor Ian Chilvers explained: “From April 2023 Selby District Council will cease to exist due to the reorganisation of local government in North Yorkshire and creation of a new single authority, North Yorkshire Council.

“As such it is appropriate that we take this opportunity to honour and thank those who have dedicated their lives to public service and have worked so hard to ensure the continued development and improvement of our district.”

Each receives a special plaque and certificate to mark the honour.

A livestream of the meeting can be viewed here

Those who received the honour were:

Mark Crane

Robert Packham

Cliff Lunn

Chris Pearson

Donald Bain-Mackay

John Cattanach

John Mackman

Wendy Nichols

Stephanie Duckett

Ian Chilvers

Richard Sweeting

Elizabeth Casling

Steve Shaw-Wright

Brian Marshall 

Chris Metcalfe

Pictured above are the honorary aldermen and women, back row left to right, Mark Crane, Robert Packham, Cliff Lunn, Chris Pearson, Donald Bain-Mackay. Front row left to right John Cattanach, John Mackman, Wendy Nichols, Stephanie Duckett, Ian Chilvers and Richard Sweeting.

Not pictured are Elizabeth Casling, Steve Shaw-Wright,  Brian Marshall  (deceased) and Chris Metcalfe.