Christmas opening

Christmas Opening banner

Selby District Council will focus on providing emergency services for people who need them most between Christmas and New Year.

The phone lines and non-essential services will close from 4pm on Thursday 24 December until 8.30am Monday 4 January 2021. 

Emergency services will continue to operate – this covers things like emergency housing repairs or homelessness support.  For emergency incidents only please call 01653 600941.

Online services are unaffected and can be accessed 24 hours a day. Click here to make online payments

Waste and recycling collections: 

Refuse collections (grey bins) due on Christmas Day (Friday 25th December) will move to Monday 28th December. Brown recycling bin collections (paper and card) due on New Year’s Day (Friday 1st January) will move to Monday 4th January. Click here to check your collection date

Green waste collections are only being suspended for two weeks this year – they’ll stop across the district from Tuesday 22nd December until Friday 1st January inclusive. They will restart on Tuesday 5th January.

Household Waste and Recycling Centres (HWRC's) are run by North Yorkshire County Council. Click here to find out their Christmas opening times.

Leisure update: 

Tadcaster and Selby Leisure Centres will close at 1pm on Thursday 24 December. They’ll then be open again on Monday 28, Tuesday 29, Wednesday 30 and Thursday 31 December from 7am until 1pm. They’ll be closed on New Year’s Day with regular opening times back in place from Saturday 2 January.

Car Parking: 

The district council's car parks will be free throughout December every Saturday (up to three hours).