May 2019 Elections

On Thursday 2 May 2019 there will be Selby District and Parish Council elections. More detailed information will be added to this page as we get closer to the elections.

District Council Elections

Candidate and Agent Briefing for District Council Elections

All District Wards will be up for election. Details of the different wards in Selby District can be found here. Nomination packs to complete for prospective candidates for the different wards can be found below

Appleton Roebuck and Church Fenton Nomination Pack

Barlby Village Nomination Pack

Brayton Nomination Pack

Byram and Brotherton Nomination Pack

Camblesforth and Carlton Nomination Pack

Cawood and Wistow Nomination Pack

Derwent Nomination Pack

Eggborough Nomination Pack

Escrick Nomination Pack

Hambleton Nomination Pack

Monk Fryston Nomination Pack

Riccall Nomination Pack

Selby East Nomination Pack

Selby West Nomination Pack

Sherburn in Elmet Nomination Pack

South Milford Nomination Pack

Tadcaster Nomination Pack

Thorpe Willoughby Nomination Pack

Whitley Nomination Pack

Electoral Commission Election Expenses Guidance

District Elections Expenses Pack (Excel Version)

Parish and Town Council Elections

Parish Clerks and Chairs Election Briefing

All of the District's Parish Councils are also be up for election, although not all may be contested. Details of all the Parishes in Selby District can be found here. The nomination pack to complete to become a candidate can be found below:

Parish and Town Council Elections Procedure Guide

Parish Councillor Nomination Pack (Word)

Parish Councillor Nomination Pack (PDF)

Electoral Commission Election Expenses Guidance

Parish Election Expenses Return 

Elections Information


The Notices of Election for both the District and Parish Elections are available to view on the links below. Nomination forms for both elections can now be delivered on any working day to the Returning Officer at the Civic Centre, Doncaster Road, Selby YO8 9FT between 9.00am and 5.00pm, but no later than 4pm on Wednesday, 3 April 2019.

Districts - Notice of Election

Parishes - Notice of Election


The deadline for submission of nomination papers for both the District and Parish elections is 4pm on Wednesday 3 April 2019. Nomination papers can be delivered to Democratic Services between 10am and 4pm at the Council Offices in Selby.

The deadline to register to vote for these elections is Friday 12 April 2019. More information about registering to vote can be found here: There is also an easy to read guide on how to register - click here to read the guide.

The deadline to apply to vote by post, or make changes to an existing postal vote, is 5pm on Monday 15 April 2019.

The deadline to apply to vote by proxy or make changes to an existing proxy vote, is 5pm on Wednesday 24 April 2019.

Tour de Yorkshire

The Tour de Yorkshire comes through the Selby district on Thursday 2 May.  This is the same day as the local elections.  The route will pass close by a number of polling stations.  We expect minimal disruption due to the race.  For all areas apart from Selby town centre the road closures will be temporary. But it's important to know which areas could be affected.

The race will come through the Selby district during the afternoon.  We expect race times will be confirmed in April.

If you're voting in one of these places, it's important to note that the race passes by.

The following polling stations are on or near the race route - your polling station wil be on your poll card:

  • Balne Parish Room
  • Cawood Old Boys School
  • District Council Civic Centre
  • Coultish Centre, Selby
  • Courtyard Tearoom, Womersley
  • Cridling Stubbs Village Hall
  • Escrick and Deighton Village Hall
  • Kirk Smeaton Community Centre
  • Selby Community Centre, Scott Road
  • Selby Rugby Club
  • Stillingfleet Village Hall
  • Thorpe Willoughby Village Hall

If you think this could affect how you vote, remember that you can also apply for a postal vote or a proxy vote.

Find out more

For further information on any queries relating to the elections, please contact us on 01757 705101 or email