Local Government Reorganisation

How does local government work now?

Right now, the picture of local government in York and North Yorkshire is quite complex. 

We have different types of councils that do different things. There is a county council covering the whole of North Yorkshire, which provides services such as roads, social care and libraries. There are seven district and borough councils that each cover a smaller area and are responsible for services such housing, waste and recycling collection, planning applications, leisure and recreation, collecting local taxes and providing housing and council tax benefits.  These councils also provide many services that are not part of their statutory responsibilities, for example:  helping vulnerable people, supporting communities, engaging with businesses, delivering strategies and projects to encourage economic growth.

​There is also a small unitary council that provides all services for the city of York.

The Government has announced that district and borough councils plus the county council in North Yorkshire will be reorganised to form one council across the whole of the county, covering a population of 618,000. The announcement leaves York as a separate, small unitary council with 211,000.

What happens next?

North Yorkshire County Council and the district and borough councils of Craven, Hambleton, Harrogate, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough and Selby will continue to operate until March 2023.

After this, they will cease to exist and the new unitary authority will come into operation.

Council staff will continue to be employed by their current council until March 2023, after which the vast majority will be transferred to the new authority.

You can find out more here: www.northyorks.gov.uk/new-council-and-devolution-north-yorkshire