General Election - Thursday 12 December 2019

How to vote

The General Election will take place on Thursday 12 December.

Polling stations will be open between 7am and 10pm.  If you're registered to vote you'll receive details of your polling station in the post.

If you've recently moved home, are new to the area or you've never voted before, you'll need to register to vote.  Click here to register to vote.  The deadline to register to vote is midnight on Tuesday 26 November.

You can also vote by post.  Download an application form for a postal vote here.  We'll start sending out postal votes after the candidates have all been confirmed.  The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on Tuesday 26 November.

You can nominate someone else to vote on your behalf.  This is called a proxy vote.  Click here to apply for a proxy vote.  The deadline to apply for a proxy vote is 5pm on Wednesday 4 December.

SPECIAL NOTE ABOUT POSTAL VOTES: We cannot print postal vote packs until the full list of candidates has been confirmed in the middle of November.  If you're going away for a long period or live overseas it may be prudent to set up a proxy vote instead.

Click here for an easy read guide produced by Mencap for people with a learning disability about voting in the General Election.

Who can I vote for in this area?

Click here for a full list of candidates.  These candidates are for the Selby and Ainsty Constituency.

Other information

Click here to read the Notice of Election.

Click here to read the Statement of Persons Nominated. This document also includes the Notice of Poll and Situation of Polling Stations.

Click here to read the Notice of Election Agents.

Click here to read the full timetable for the election.

For further information regarding the election please contact 01757 705101 or email