General Election - Thursday 8 June 2017

There will be a general election on Thursday 8 June 2017. Electors in the Selby district and the Ainsty area of Harrogate Borough Council will vote to elect a Member of Parliament for the Selby & Ainsty constituency. The election for this constituency will be administered by Selby District Council.

Information for prospective candidates and agents

If you are intending to stand as a candidate for the Selby & Ainsty constituency, or will be an Agent for a candidate at this election, we recommend that you contact Palbinder Mann (Democratic Services Manager) by telephone to 01757 292207 or email This will enable us to provide you with specific information about the nomination process and arrangements for the election. 

Please find the nomination pack below. Candidates (or agents) must deliver their completed nomination papers by hand to the Acting Returning Officer, Civic Centre, Doncaster Road, Selby, YO8 9FT by 4pm on Thursday 11th May 2017. Papers can only be delivered between 10am and 4pm on normal working days.


Parliamentary Candidate Nomination Pack

How to register to vote

If you are already registered to vote, you do not need to register again to vote in the general election. If you are not registered to vote, you will need to register by Monday 22 May 2017 to vote at the general election.

The quickest way to register to vote is online at Or you can contact our Electoral Services team on 01757 705101 if you need a paper registration form or further advice. 

If you will be away on 8 June, you can apply for a postal vote or you can appoint another person to vote on your behalf by applying for a proxy vote.

Key dates for voters

The deadline to register to vote at this election is Monday 22 May 2017 (you do not need to re-register if you are already registered to vote)*.

The deadline to apply for a postal vote at this election is 5pm on Tuesday 23 May 2017*.

The deadline to apply for a proxy vote at this election is 5pm on Wednesday 31 May 2017*.

The election will be held on Thursday 8 June 2017 and polling stations will be open from 7am to 10pm. Votes will be counted overnight after the close of poll, with the result for the Selby & Ainsty constituency announced in the early hours of Friday 9 June 2017.

* = applications must be returned complete and correct by this deadline. Where applications are not complete, additional information cannot be accepted after the deadline.